When to save documents to OneDrive for Business

One Drive for Business – OD4B – is like my documents in the cloud. Most new users ask when do I use it.  Here are some guidelines for when OD4B is best suited.

You don’t plan to share the files.
Documents you place in OneDrive for Business are private by default, unless you place them in the Shared with Everyone folder. This makes OneDrive for Business your best option for draft documents or personal documents that no one else needs to see.

You plan to share files individually and with a limited scope or lifecycle.
For example, you’re writing a blog post that may not be associated with a project, and you’d like a few colleagues to review it before you post it. In this case, you expect people to use the document once without needing additional storage or context information. All they need is a link to the document and editing permission.

You can’t identify an existing team site where your document belongs, and you don’t think the purpose of the document warrants creating a new one.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑